MPRAESO SHS Wins 4TH Ghana Science Olympiad For SEIP Schools



Master Fynn Sackey Opoku Emmanuel of Mpraeso SHS on Monday won the overall best student for the 4th National Science Olympiad for schools under the Secondary Education Improvement Project(SEIP) at KNUST.

Speaking at the climax of the 5day event, the Dep Minister of Education Hon. Ntim Fordjour applauded all participating schools and students for going through rigorous testing in application of the theoretical knowledge acquired in the respective schools.

In his address, he disclosed that the new budget made provision for retooling science resource centres in all SHSs to help students enjoy the study of science and mathematics.

“The retooling of the science centres will enhance the practical aspect of the study of science” He added.

Hon. Ntim Fordjour reaffirmed the Ministries unrelenting focus to strengthen STEM Education in the country.

In a her key note address, Prof Marian Asantewaa Nkansah from the Dept. of Chemistry ,called on all stakeholders to support and push STEM education forward for Nation Building .

The overall best student, Master Fynn won a Gold medal, laptop, Plaque , certificate and a Biology textbook.

Akusaki Benjamin Nartey of Osei Kyeretwie SHS and Jonathan Wullar of Labone SHS won the 1st and 2nd runner up respectively. They both had medals, certificates ,Plaques and Biology text book .

The Director-General of GES gave a tablet each as his special award to all 16 GES Regional STMIE coordinators .

Mpraeso SHS again received a 65 inch smart flat screen as Ministers special award for winning the overall best school.

Present at the event were Prof William Ellis Otoo, former Vice Chancellor KNUST, Dep. Director General, lawyer Anthony Boateng, Mrs Olivia Serwaa Opare, Director Science Unit, Mrs Mary Owusu Afriyie, Regional Director Ashanti, Mrs Patty Assan Director Schools and Instructions ,District Directors of Education,
Dr. Jacob K. Agbenorhevi, senior Lecturer,
Nana Baffour- Awuah, Director for Pre-tertiary, MoE, Mr. Julius Nkansah Nyarko, Chief Programs Officer, Renewable Energy, Ghana Energy Commission, Past Directors and staff of the science unit among others.

Public Relations Unit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here